Ambition and Training

I decided recently that I was all 5K’d out.  I ran 6 of them since last May.  They began getting ‘easy’ even tho I’m still a ‘slow’ runner.  I’m not too concerned about speed, tho.  The challenge is to finish.

So – I have gone a bit over the top, and signed myself up for a half-marathon.  But wait, I haven’t even done a 10K yet!…..Never fear, I signed up for one of those too, set before the half.  Running can sometimes be tedious, especially in the winter – when you’re often limited to a treadmill.  I’ve learned that I need to keep setting goals to keep myself in consistent training.  I need an assignment.  So this is how I’m going to keep myself on the treadmill this winter.  Of course I’ll run outdoors when it’s unseasonably warm-ish (nah, there’s no global warming!).

In other news, I’m NINE months sober now. How gratifying it is to escape that trap!  I’m still trying to decide what my ‘reward’ will be when I hit one year.  Suggestions?

My band is about to record some music for you all.  Oh, did you not know I play in a band?  You can check us out at http://www.facebook.com/atomicdisasters. After a lot of downtime, it’s time to get back on the ball with that.  I’m excited that we finally got our own little studio setup to use whenever we want. Can’t wait for you to hear it!

img_1504

My pre running chubbier days w/ The Atomic Disasters.

Lastly, I want to leave you with this commercial break.  No really.  This ad is pretty amazing. Let me know what you think of it.  Well done, Adidas.

Leave a Reply

